Think Only Italians Go Out Of Their Way To Eat Well? Think Again!


Something rather bizarre yet entertaining was brought to my attention by  family member one day.  I was looking through my email and found a message about a dam in Italy.  Of course, many of my relatives like to send me little tid-bits about Italy.  This time however I was shocked at what I found when I opened up this particular email.

At first it was a picture of a dam in Northern Italy.  The email asked me to think about what these shadow looking blips could be before scrolling down.  I thought that they were some kind of metal reinforcement meant to help support the sheer wall of the dam.  But low and behold they were…

GOATS!

These Ibex apline goats scale the practically vertical wall of the dam in order to lick the salt deposits and algae that grow there.  Wildlife conservationists say their attraction to the salt deposits is due to the lack of minerals in their diet.  Our office jury is still out on whether it is instinctual or if these goats are just following the health nut craze.  Either way they sure are pulling out all the stops for a balanced diet!

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in fun facts/day trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

