Groupon pampering well worth it for Montepulciano


It was a most wonderful day off from work at Pierotucci Leather Factory!  I headed out with my dear friend Suze from Australia. In the seven years that I have been living here in Italy, can you believe I had never visited this extremely pretty town? The main purpose of this visit, however was not to pick the abundant grapes that almost spread onto the road from the amazing vineyards, but to take advantage of a very special offer that we got off the internet for some therapeutic spa treatments at the Montepulciano Terme.  I have become a bit of a Groupon addict and this offer was just too good to pass up. Having had a wonderful lunch first at Il Grifon D’Oro, where we supped a superb glass of Nobilo Montepulciano 2009, we headed off carefully to the spa which was only a 10 minute ride away, fortunately.

View of Montepulciano

View of Montepulciano

First we were taken into the grotto like cave with the thermal waters. Water jets cascaded from above and already I was feeling wonderful. Next was the massage. A very experienced woman called Antonella was my masseuse and she certainly knew what she was doing. As well as the normal massage maneuvers, she pulled my toes, pulled my fingers, pulled my head upwards, applied pressure to the brow bones, moves I have never experienced. At the end of it I don’t think I have ever felt so light as if I was truly walking on air.

Montepulciano Terme

Montepulciano Terme

Then a purifying clay mask was applied to my face, left for 20 minutes and sponged off. The final part was relaxing on a heated ceramic bed for 20 minutes before reluctantly getting dressed and heading home. This experience is something I will always treasure as I am not normally a person who indulges herself too often. I think I should definitely treat myself to another fantastic day out very soon.

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in fun facts/day trips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Groupon pampering well worth it for Montepulciano

  1. claire says:

    This looks a great place to visit 🙂

    • Pierotucci says:

      It really was. Considering it was only under one and a half hours drive from my house, you would think I would have gone well before now. The town itself is so pretty too. I feel very lucky to be living here in Florence, having originally lived all my life in London.

  2. Susan says:

    Thanks again for a really wonderful day – I love Montepulciano terme! And by the way, this is a friendly reminder to pack my beautiful new Pierotucci bag and send it on its merry way to Australia. Soft sumptuous leather – and it’s mine – ALL MINE! Love Tuscany; love the terme; love Pierotucci! Suze

Leave a Reply

