Putting the fun back into Black Friday


Black Friday Sales and DealsI have been out of the States way too long to have memories of getting up at ungodly hours to fight and fuss with my fellow man over who got the last 40 inch high resolution TV at the infamous Black Friday sales. In fact 20 years ago Black Friday was a bit of a game for the consumer, I would even venture to say almost kind of fun. But today, when I do get the chance to go back into the States for my turkey fix (not to mention real stuffing, candied sweet potatoes, pumpkin and / or pecan pie), I feel as if I am hit by the entirely cold commercial aspect of those once fun Christmas sales.

I am proud to say I have no memories of  sitting outside waiting for Wal***t or Ta**et to open at 4 am in the morning.  However, I do remember looking through the colorful holiday sale flyers on every weekend in the month of December (y’know the ones that came with the Sunday newspaper) and trying to pick-up the perfect gift pack of Charlie perfume for my best friend and affordable gift for Mom and Dad.

I can’t help but feel that the average shopper is now sucked into believing that if they don’t get it on sale the 25 of November then they are doomed. It’s as if the shopper is getting all wound up on the potential savings of any one object instead of the potential fun factor in finding, selecting, buying and giving.  So they wade through the discount offers left and right on Black Friday getting mired in that mantra “how much can I save” instead of that warm all over feeling “I bet she’s going to love that” or “I can’t wait to see his face when he open this.”

Somehow, I feel we should get back to searching out those Black Friday deals and sales for items that we truly think will make our receiver smile with pleasure and joy because in the end those are the very same deals that make us smile with pleasure. And better yet, find those Black Friday steals that are accessible without setting the alarm clock !

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Guest Writer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

