Oh my gosh!! A little bit of seismic movement going on here in Italy


This afternoon at approximately 4 pm local time I felt the office building crick and crack.  If it weren’t for the fact that we just had seismic activity already this week in the region Reggio Emilia, I probably would have just shrugged it off as a truck passing or someone moving something on the floor above.  But since my office overlooks the road – and I can attest there were no trucks and since there is no one at home on the floor above there were no obvious excuses.  So a bit dazed and a little amazed,  I thought “WOW, I just experience a real live earthquake!”  It never occurred to me to run outside or that it was a scary thing (though my younger colleague was definitely on the nervous side when I asked her “did you just feel what I felt?” and confirmed her worse suspicions.)

News puts it at a magnitude of 5.4 – and it was felt all over the place.  Some even wrote that pictures fell came tumbling down, things fell of the shelves, stucco decorations on buildings cracked and fell…I am glad all I heard was crick and crack!

Never ever really thought of Italy as being an area subjected to earthquakes when I started imagining my European travels, but my 14 years in Casentino (a lovely valley located about 75 km southeast of Florence) proved me wrong.  I am a bit of a history addict – love to learn the story about any place, and it became quite clear to me that something was a bit fishy when church after church included tidbits of how it had been rebuilt after this earthquake or that earthquake.   Thinking I would surprise my Italian friends with a little know fact I myself was surprised when then said, yup this is a seismic area!

 

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Out and about in Florence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

