Feeding the Italians


is always a rather interesting concept.  Exactly what can you give a popolo (aka population)  that believes they have the market cornered when it comes to food?

The Italians have a way of smiling at you (in a rather irritating manner) whenever you bring in a new dish for them to taste.  Sure they will make every attempt to be friendly by

1) ohh, that looks so beautiful, too good to eat

2) oh I can’t eat it all right now, I will save it for later…whenever that is

3) they will look at it and decide that there are way too many calories ( they call it a bomba) so they can only taste a little tiny bit . . . which is probably the most annoying because most of the sweets and cakes we make are caloric bombs! but we don’t need to be reminded of that . . . (and what about Tiramisù, that is not a  diet friendly dessert).

Well today we celebrated a B-day in the office and I spent all evening be-bopping around the kitchen making cupcakes.  I found this recipe on foodgawker.com which looked absolutely divine, and the author promised that I would scream with delight over the chocolat-y-ness of these cupcakes.  And you know what, she was absolutely RIGHT!  From the batter, the ganache (an idea that I have been just dying to try ever since I saw the war of the cupcakes with my nieces and nephew while on vacation) and the creamy icing (essentially a  NON-existent concept  for most Italians) – I was in heaven even before I slipped a tray into the oven.

So here I am working around the kitchen, waiting for DH to get home so we can try the cooked version together … Well, it wasn’t worth the wait.  Since he is Italian (as we say here Fiorentino D.O.C. which essentially means Italian through and through) his only comment was 1) is it supposed to be this hard…I couldn’t respond because my taste buds were exploding with pleasure.  After I finally swallowed down mine, I asked ” yours is hard, here let me taste.”  It didn’t work, he didn’t let me taste his.  His second comment was this stuff on top is too sweet… um duhhh! It’s icing, it’s supposed to be sweet.  Only to follow up “well, they’re OK.”  It’s a good thing my colleagues at work are a mixed bunch (Brit, Swede, Japanese and a Ital-American) who gave food satisfaction.

We wanted to include a picture….but alas crumbs do not make impressive photos.

Italians give absolutely no satisfaction when it comes to food that doesn’t originate in Italy!!

If you want to check out the recipe, which is incredibly easy to follow:  here it is

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Italian Traditions and Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

