Wild violets in my front yard


I always thought of violets as the ones you see in the florist shop with the thick fuzzy leaves yet I had to change my mind when I moved into my Chianti home about 4 years ago.  One spring day while soaking up the sun, my neighbor invited me into her tiny little plot of land, saying how she hated to cut the lawn,  though I couldn’t figure why it looked awful…until I saw the carpet of green and purple – wild violets.  Wow! – I was ohhhing and ahhhhing, when she looked at me and said “you have them too.”

It is one of those things that sometimes you get so used to seeing something that it doesn’t even register.  Four years ago there were little patches in my front yard and  now (because they spread with an incredible deftness) they are decorating my entire corner.  This afternoon DH walk out to soak up a little sun and he says, where did these come from  (what did I tell you – they were there all the time but you only see what you want to see).  With a little smile (yes I could say it was a smile with a smudge of superiority in it) I nodded and said they were always here.

I wanted to show you all – but my camera just didn’t capture the delicateness and tenderness of the flowers so  I had to borrow an image – but I swear those that you see in my front yard look just like the photo – except that they are everywhere!  It’s gorgeous and selvatico (wild) at the same time.

Wild violets in Florence Italy

Not only is viola (purple) Florence’s city color – but it is also the color of our soccer team which, may the gods help us, needs to start winning!  (FORZA VIOLA – which means go purple team!)

And keeping in with the theme of purple, here are two bags in nappa leather featured in this heart warming color:

Italian leather messenger bag, in purple colored nappa

Italian leather messenger bag, in puple colored nappa

and if you need something just a little bigger to carry around your stuff:

Italian Leather Handbag style satchel ion purple colored nappa

Italian Leather Handbag style satchel ion purple colored nappa

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Out and about in Florence and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

