Tipping at restaurants in Paris and Italy ?


This is the type of question that everyone always has and since one of my favorite bloggers thought well to reblog a piece about tipping in Paris – I am going to pass it on as well.

Tipping in Paris.

Tipping in Italy – well, normally we just round off the tab.  However I have found that when you are outside of the “touristy” zone it’s not really even expected.  I remember once I went to leave a tip, and everyone at the table (all Italians) just laughed and said that it was the owner serving and they told me “you don’t tip the owner.”  opps.

However, when you get into the bigger cities  you will find that they have  already started “expecting” tips and sometimes they will automatically add a service charge – you need to check the bill before paying.  Cover charge ?  That’s not a tip, that’s just a way of covering the basics  . . . like a table, chair, silverware and a menu 🙂

What has been your experience with tipping in Italy?

 

About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Out and about in Florence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tipping at restaurants in Paris and Italy ?

  1. JMGrana says:

    I am so glad you mentioned this–as someone who has never been to Italy (yet), I find it really useful to know the correct etiquette for once I can finally get out there! I plan on (hopefully) finding the town(s) where my ancestors lived, and I think it will be wonderful to know the customs!

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

