The U.S. Knows Fun Like Italy Knows Pasta


I like to think of myself as an American representitive capable of bringing new traditions to Italy. And as you may or may not know, the “ugly sweater” party has become a vital part of American culture. It’s become even more popularized during the holiday season when “lovely” Christmas sweaters (jumpers) can be seen in every department store and on at least one person in your office (you know who I’m talking about, they look a something like this).UglyChristmasSweater

This year I still received an invitation to one of these specially themed evenings back in my hometown despite the fact I’m thousands of miles away. While I waited around for some kind of fun Christmas, holiday party invitation in Italy, it never came. My theory is, the U.S. knows fun like Italy knows pasta and if you’ve been to Italy, you know, that they know their pasta, meaning we (the U.S.) know how to have fun. Have I lost you in my banter?

Anyway, this year I want to loosen up those suits and ties that the Italians are so keen on wearing so everyone can let their hair down. And how to do that, you ask? Well, I’m thinking it’s time to give someone the gift of an oh-so-unlovely sweater. You know the ones I’m talking about with tinsel somehow weaved into the material or certain parts that actually light up. Or it’s just the shock of seeing a grown man in a red Christmas sweater with fluffly Christmas kittens all over it.

Ugly Christmas Sweater Party

Either way, hold your head up high and look damn good in your ugly sweater. So Italy, if you’re reading this, next party’s theme is and must be an Ugly Sweater party.

Wishing You A Very Merry Christmas From Pierotucci!
About Pierotucci

Since 1972 Pierotucci has been designing and producing classic Italian Leather goods for men & women, including leather bags, leather handbags and purses, leather jackets and leather accessories such as wallets, gloves, belts and much more.
This entry was posted in Fashion and Color, Italian Traditions and Culture, Out and about in Florence, Pierotucci and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

